5 Named To NASCAR Hall Of Fame

The Class of 2018 was announced Wednesday in uptown Charlotte, North Carolina.  The latest group of honorees is made up of Ken Squier, one of NASCAR’s original broadcasters and a co-founder of the Motor Racing Network in 1970 … Red Byron, who won NASCAR’s first “Strictly Stock” championship in 1949 – the  precursor to today’s Monster Energy Series … Ray Evernham, the crew chief who guided Jeff Gordon to three Cup Series championships in a four-year stretch and an eye-popping forty-seven race wins during the 1990s … Ron Hornaday, who claimed four Truck Series championships and has a series-record fifty-one wins … and master engine builder Robert Yates, who was this year’s leading vote getter – appearing on ninety-four percent of the ballots … Squier’s golden voice took NASCAR to a national audience thirsting for live coverage of what he famously described as – QUOTE – “common men doing uncommon things” … Byron drove for Hall of Fame car owner Raymond Parks.  He was wounded in World War-2 and drove with a special brace attached to the clutch pedal to ease the movement of his injured leg, making his accomplishments even more impressive … Evernham and Gordon teamed up for two Daytona 500 victories and a pair of Brickyard 400 wins at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  He was also successful as a team owner, winning at Indy in 2002 with Bill Elliott behind the wheel … Hornaday won five straight races in 2009, a feat matched only three other times across NASCAR’s three national series in the sport’s sixty-nine-year history.  He also holds Truck Series records for top fives (158) and top tens (234) … Yates built the engines that powered Bobby Allison to the 1983 Cup Series championship.  He became a team owner in the late 1980s and won three Daytona 500s … The Class of 2018 will be formally inducted in January

Charlie Munson

Charlie Munson

Want to know more about Charlie Munson? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on 92.5 WESC! Read more


Content Goes Here